The Maiden Voyage

Greetings and Salutations!

Welcome to my inaugural blog post! My name is Octavia, and like most people of the creative persuasion, I am possessed of the need to make things. All kinds of things. All the time. Constantly. When I’m not making things, I’m researching things to make; planning the next thing. Always planning the next thing. My list of ‘next things’ has become quite the project itself.

 When I was younger (muuuuuuch younger) drawing was my deal. Mostly I drew a lot of trees and nature scenes, occasionally venturing to uncharted territories to experiment with doodling showgirls and bikinied dogs.

(Currently on exhibition at My Mother’s House)

 

In my teenage years I conquered my fear of drawing people by spending most of my free time drawing the women in the Victoria’s Secret clothing catalog and an occasional celebrity.

(I even started getting pretty not bad!)

  My early twenties were spent dabbling in colored pencil and ink abstract landscapes and bizarre-o nature scenes.

And then I discovered mixed-media assemblage and fell in love. Hard. It was what I’d always vaguely wanted to do with art, but could never exactly define my thoughts enough to figure it out. For as in love with the art form as I am, I haven’t actually made very many sculptures yet. I’ve been collecting and refining ideas for a while now, however, and am ready to get to work on them finally.

Part of me can’t stop kicking myself for stopping drawing so much just when I was beginning to figure out what the heck I’m doing. I still doodle on occasion–

(Although they’ve gotten much weirder…)

–and have completely neglected to mention photography at all even though I’ve been doing it for over ten years, and is what I write under “Profession.” You wouldn’t know it by the quality of photos in this post, ha! I apologize for the hasty phone pictures. I don’t actually own a scanner, and pbbbbt to photographing flat things.

It’s kind of an exciting time for me, speaking in photography terms. I’ve been struggling for a while with my portrait business, and I think I finally figured out what I’m doing wrong and how to fix it. I’d been attempting to succeed by taking what I like to call “Normal” portraits of people and their families. The problem with this right from the beginning is that I am not a normal person, and thus, know nothing about normal people or what they want. Most portraits of myself involve costumes, or at the very least a zany prop. I didn’t even know how to advertise to people who wanted portraits of them in their Sunday best. Don’t get me wrong, I can take those pictures, but meh. I’m pretty sure my clients could pick up on that. Not to mention, there is a lot of competition in that area with people who are willing to do a portrait session for $35, with print release, and zero post-process. I don’t think I need to extrapolate on the quality of portfolios involved there, but I would say that about 95% of the market for people looking for regular portraits are totally fine with exactly what they get from that kind of photographer. I’m just not that kind of photographer.

I’ve decided to shift my focus to my conceptual projects and cosplay photography. I’ve got a lot of work to do getting all the details of the new change sorted, but I finally feel like I’m moving in the right direction as a business. Stay tuned for updates on that! Some of the other things hatching at the moment are: Potentially some kind of paper shop involving cards, journals, totes/tees with some kind of graphic (we’ll see about this one), and still trying to get my music skills up to par to get our band–The Junktown Jerky Vendors– off and running. It’s also seed starting time, so I shouldn’t have to worry about the dangers of becoming bored anytime soon!

Thanks for sticking around this long. I was worried I wouldn’t have enough to talk about to run a blog, but as it turns out I can’t shut up! Nice getting acquainted with you, and with luck, things should only get better from here.

End Transmission.

 

 

Leave a Reply

